Stanmore and Canons Park Synagogue
Stanmore and Canons Park Synagogue

Stanmore Seniors

Stanmore Seniors

Calling all senior members of our community to join us at all or any of our varied programme of events.

There is something for all tastes ranging from the intellectual to the frivolous, but always stimulating and enjoyable, and in like company.

As well as our regular current affairs discussion group and cards and games afternoons, we have interesting talks, quizzes, musical afternoons and much more.

Stanmore Seniors continues to thrive year after year and welcomes new members as well as current ones, so please come along and bring friends for a chance to mix with your contemporaries and enjoy a relaxing afternoon in good company.

All our events are held at 2:00pm - except for the outings - and tea is provided.

For more information please phone Naomi Passer via the Shul office on 020 8954 2210.

Here is our programme for the coming months - and we look forward to seeing you at as many events as possible.


  • Monday 30 April
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 07 May
    Bank Holiday
  • Monday 14 May
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Thursday 17 May
    My Wartime Experiences in Holland - Henri Obstfeld talks about his early life in Wartime Holland
  • Monday 21 May
    Shavuot
  • Monday 28 May
    Bank Holiday
  • Sunday 03 June from 12:30-3:30pm
    Seniors Lunch - we invite our senior members for lunch with musical entertainment by our Fiddler On Stanmore's Roof Cast.
    There will be a fried fish and salad lunch (vegetarian option available on request when booking) Price £12.50 per person.
    Transport can be arranged when booking your ticket for the HA7 and HA8 postcodes - we look forward to seeing you there.
    Please RSVP by Friday 25 May at the latest as numbers are limited.
    To book your place please telephone the Shul office on 020 8954 2210 to pay by credit card - or Cheques can be made payable to Stanmore and Canons Park Synagogue - please mark on envelope "Seniors Lunch"
  • Monday 04 June
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Thursday 07 June
    Reviewing the Situation - the Life and Music of Lionel Bart presented by Geoff Bowden
  • Monday 11 June
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 18 June
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 25 June
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Thursday 28 June
    A Journey of the Streets of the Old Jewish East End - 18th Century to early 20th Century
    Howard Slater talks on the history and people of this area
  • Monday 02 July
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 09 July
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 16 July
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 23 July
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 30 July
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 06 August
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 13 August
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 20 August
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 27 August
    Bank Holiday
  • Monday 03 September
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends

Every Wednesday there is an Extend exercise class, seated exercises to music, for the over sixties, between 11:15am and 12:00 noon.
All are welcome.