Stanmore and Canons Park Synagogue
Stanmore and Canons Park Synagogue

Stanmore Seniors

Stanmore Seniors

Calling all senior members of our community to join us at all or any of our varied programme of events.

There is something for all tastes ranging from the intellectual to the frivolous, but always stimulating and enjoyable, and in like company.

As well as our regular current affairs discussion group and cards and games afternoons, we have interesting talks, quizzes, musical afternoons and much more.

Stanmore Seniors continues to thrive year after year and welcomes new members as well as current ones, so please come along and bring friends for a chance to mix with your contemporaries and enjoy a relaxing afternoon in good company.

All our events are held at 2:00pm - except for the outings - and tea is provided.

For more information please phone Naomi Passer via the Shul office on 020 8954 2210.

Here is our programme for the coming months - and we look forward to seeing you at as many events as possible.


  • Monday 04 September
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Thursday 07 September
    'Doing What Comes Naturally' - Talk by Geoff Bowden on the Life and Music of Irving Berlin.
  • Monday 11 September
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 18 September to Friday 13 October
    No meetings because of Yom tov
  • Monday 16 October
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 23 October
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 30 October
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 06 November
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Thursday 09 November
    My Life as a Fleet Street Photo-Journalist: Dennis Hart talks about his work on the London Evening News and the Daily Mail covering the major news stories of the day including five Royal weddings
  • Monday 13 November
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Monday 20 November
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 27 November
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 04 December
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 11 December
    Current Affairs Discussion group hosted by Eric Silver
  • Thursday 14 December
    Chanukah Party - Ever popular Sandra Friedman plays the keyboard for us
  • Monday 18 December
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends
  • Monday 08 January
    Cards/Board Games - Enjoy a game of Bridge, Kalooki, Rummikub or Scrabble with friends

Every Wednesday there is an Extend exercise class, seated exercises to music, for the over sixties, between 11:15am and 12:00 noon.
All are welcome.